On Believing One is a Unicorn

by littledodogirl

What I do during the short period of peace and quiet that is my lunch: watch ted.com. And yes, I do go the easy route of checking the most-emailed list. I like to live on the edge like that…

Yesterday I watched this video by Shawn Achor about the happy secret to better work. I have to admit, I rolled my eyes at first at the yet again think-happy-thoughts-and-heaven’s-gates-will-open-for-you message (mind you, I still watched it). He’s funny, and great thoughts are worth repeating I suppose. Like we say in Arabic, repetition (hopefully?) teaches the good students.  What I took away is an awareness of the human bottomless pit of wants. Anyway, he thankfully concluded not with a think-positive-thoughts message but more of a few tips on how to change our frame of mind into a positive direction. A 21-day-challenge to do the following everyday:

  • 3 Gratitudes
  • Journaling
  • Exercise
  • Meditation
  • Random acts of kindness

Exercise is the only thing I do with some sort of regularity and I agree wholeheartedly. Days when I workout I feel plain old “good”. The rest are common sense that sadly I do not practice frequently. Something must be done about that!

